top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam E. Rowland

Reflection: Creating an ePortfolio

Objective: Reflect on how the digital portfolio model is an effective form of authentic assessment

 

The following excerpt is from an essay I was required to write in a doctorate-level course based on technologically driven curriculum and social media. The essay was based on the use of ePortfolios as authentic assessments, and I was able to effectively to use reflection to deepen my learning and review the tools used in previous learning modules. As some of you know, I am a big fan of Google Drive, and I was very happy to demonstrate my knowledge of Google's tools to create a personal ePortfolio! Enjoy the read!


"Logan (2015) posits reflective journals and rubrics are valuable tools that allow students and teachers to alternatively assess progress and understanding in a variety of contexts. Reflective writing may be beneficial in developing students’ critical thinking skills, building their own knowledge, and reinforcing their own learning (Logan, 2015). The creation and implementation of rubrics has also been shown to improve student comprehension of their own progress due to increased participation in the learning process (Davies & Andrade, 2000, as cited in Logan, 2015). The current course has provided several applicable theories, tools, and concepts, and the opportunity to reflect may allow for a strengthening of critical thinking and deepened level of learning.


As the course began, I felt quite comfortable with the integration of technology; I was already familiar with many of the tools introduced in the first modules, and I looked forward to strengthening my skills using a variety of technology tools. Module 5 dealt specifically with using technology for authentic assessment, and I was particularly interested in the concept of video-based lesson openers. While I had always understood the importance of grabbing students’ attention prior to the introduction of a unit, I had never considered using pre-recorded videos to introduce concepts and lessons. Using Screencast-o-matic and ensuring the forms of technology were prepared ahead of time, I was able to effectively introduce two lessons and explain how using the presentation tools would be applicable in students’ current classes.


The creation of an ePortfolio using Google Drive was not a particularly frustrating experience, as I am fairly adept and knowledgeable as it relates to Google’s suite of digital tools, While the creation and organization of the folders was relatively simple, determining which artifacts would best represent mastery of concepts was somewhat challenging. I was easily able to return to saved versions of discussions and digital files, as I typically save all forms of work in my doctorate courses. Uploading discussions, which were already in Word format, was extremely easy, and I determined creating Google Docs with embedded links to large video files would be the simplest way to preserve storage space and provide easy viewability."


Reference


Logan, B. (2015). Reviewing the value of self-assessments: Do they matter in the classroom?

Research in Higher Education Journal, 29.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page